Many people around the world deal with dark circles, undereye bags and dark spots in the eye area every day. While these symptoms are completely normal, sometimes you may want to up your makeup game by applying a little “wake up makeup” for a big meeting or night out. That’s where we come in! Mary Kay asked Mary Kay Global Beauty Ambassador Luis Casco how to conceal and correct these three common issues, so continue reading for his tips and tricks for how to apply undereye concealer!

Looking for more general concealer tips? Check out this resource for even more makeup artist-approved concealer tips.

Tired Eye Causes

Discover the causes for these three common undereye issues with science-backed facts and Mary Kay® skin care solutions from Deanna Fell, Vice President, R&D Product Stewardship before you dive into Luis’ expert tips.

The sparkling pink Mary Kay Hydrogel Eye Patches
Undereye Bags

The impact of UV exposure, free radicals, and other irritants can weaken the lymphatic drainage system, causing fluid to over-accumulate under the eyes.

Try Mary Kay® Hydrogel Eye Patches to hydrate and help with the look of puffiness and dullness. And don’t forget to cultivate good sleeping habits!

A dollop of TimeWise Age Minimize 3D Eye Cream
Dark Circles

Daily assaults like UV exposure, free radicals and other irritants stimulate excess pigment production and contribute to the appearance of dark under-eye circles.

Gently apply TimeWise® Age Minimize 3D® Eye Cream to help improve multiple visible signs of aging and fatigue, including the look of dark circles, undereye puffiness, fine lines and wrinkles. In terms of lifestyle changes, manage your allergies and continue to work on those healthy sleeping habits.

A sleek tube of TimeWise Repair Volu-Firm Eye Renewal Cream
Dark Spots & Age Spots

Dark spots and age spots are mostly due to long-term sun damage, which leads to uneven melanin production in skin.

Smooth on the anti-aging TimeWise Repair® Volu-Firm® Eye Renewal Cream to target age spots, uneven skin tone, crepey-looking skin and dark circles. Also make sure you avoid the sun! We suggest using SPF and wearing sunglasses that provide UV protection.

Undereye Bags

Mary Kay Perfecting Concealer and Silky Setting Powder with the Cream Color Brush

STEP 1: SKIN CARE
Taking care of undereye bags really begins with skin care. If there’s time, I use Mary Kay® Hydrogel Eye Patches, but as a rule, I always apply eye cream before applying any makeup. Also, I use a very light tapping motion to blend the eye cream, and it feels great! If you have oiler undereye skin, try one of my go-to products, Indulge® Soothing Eye Gel, instead of an eye cream.

STEP 2: CONCEALER
After your eye cream is dry, apply Mary Kay® Perfecting Concealer to the darker, shadowy area under the puffiness — not the puffy area itself — for coverage without creasing. Undereye concealer helps give the eye area a lifted, flatter look. Then use your ring finger to lightly pat the edges to blend. I recommend the ring finger because it’s your weakest finger, so you can give the delicate eye area the gentleness it needs.

STEP 3: SETTING POWDER
Finish by using a little Mary Kay® Silky Setting Powder instead of a translucent powder and the Mary Kay® Eye Blending Brush to set the concealer. Just make sure that the powder shade you use isn’t too light. It should match your skin tone or be only a shade lighter.

Dark Circles

An artistic rub with concealer and powder shades for various skin tones

STEP 1: UNDEREYE CORRECTOR
Help neutralize dark circles and brighten the undereye area with Mary Kay® Undereye Corrector. Apply it only to the dark area you’re correcting using the Mary Kay® Cream Color Brush as a concealer brush for a precise application.

If you have a medium to deep skin tone, try using Mary Kay® Perfecting Concealer in Light Bronze. It has enough of an orange tone to correct the look of dark circles on deeper skin tones.

STEP 2: CONCEALER
After neutralizing the dark circles, it’s time to make them match your skin tone. Start by drawing an upside-down triangle under your eye with the points on the inner corner, outer corner and your cheek using a shade of Mary Kay® Perfecting Concealer that matches your skin tone. A little bit goes a long way, so start with a little concealer, and apply more as needed instead of caking it on.

STEP 3: SETTING POWDER
Finish by setting your undereye makeup using the Mary Kay® Silky Setting Powder technique I mentioned before. Just make sure you start with a little powder and build as needed so it doesn’t look cakey.

Dark Spots
A rub of Mary Kay Perfecting Concealer with the bottle and doe foot applicator

STEP 1: CONCEALER
A lot of people, especially people of colour, struggle with dark spots in general, but they can also occur in the eye area. If you want to cover them up, try this one-step technique! Just apply a shade of Mary Kay® Perfecting Concealer that matches your skin tone to the dark area only, and gently pat it with your finger to blend for a creaseless look. This concealer also helps with redness, so it’s a must-have for your flawless face routine!

If you don’t have a concealer that is a perfect match for your skin tone, you can always use a little TimeWise® 3D Foundation in a luminous or matte finish to spot-correct and conceal!

Your Concealer Concierge

These three undereye issues are extremely common for people around the world, so feel free to embrace your natural beauty! For those days when you want to feel a little more confident and look wide-awake, connect with an Independent Beauty Consultant! As your personal beauty advisor, she’s just a text or call away from hooking you up with the beauty tips and products you want.

Mary Kay Global Beauty Ambassador Luis Casco has partnered with Mary Kay for over 25 years! He believes that knowing different techniques like the ones above mean that you can be confident in a no-makeup look or create your own masterpiece! His favorite products for tired-looking eyes are Mary Kay® Hydrogel Eye Patches and Indulge® Soothing Eye Gel.

The interviewer, Kristen Reed-Belveal, is a content manager for Mary Kay who loves puns and spending time with her family. Her favorite Mary Kay® products for dark circles are Mary Kay® Perfecting Concealer in Light Bronze and Deep Bronze plus a little Mary Kay® Silky Setting Powder in Light-to-Medium Bronze.

Your Undereye Concealer Toolbox

Beaucoup de gens dans le monde entier ont des problèmes de cernes, poches sous les yeux et taches brunes dans la région des yeux tous les jours. Bien que ces conditions soient très normales, vous voudrez parfois améliorer votre look en appliquant un peu de « maquillage réveillant » pour une réunion importante ou une soirée en ville. C'est là où nous entrons en jeu! Mary Kay a demandé à son ambassadeur mondial de la beauté Luis Casco comment dissimuler et corriger trois soucis communs, alors continuez à lire pour ses conseils et astuces sur comment appliquer le correcteur anti-cernes!


Vous voulez d’autres conseils généraux sur les dissimulateurs? Jetez un œil à cette ressource pour plus de conseils sur les dissimulateurs approuvés par un maquilleur professionnel.

Qu’est-ce qui fatigue les yeux?

Découvrez les causes de ces trois problèmes courants des yeux avec des faits qui reposent sur la science et des solutions de soins de la peau Mary KayMD avec Deanna Fell, vice-présidente, R et D et Gérance des produits, avant de passer aux conseils d’expert de Luis.

The sparkling pink Mary Kay Hydrogel Eye Patches
Poches sous les yeux

L’impact de l’exposition aux rayons UV, les radicaux libres et d’autres irritants peuvent affaiblir le système de drainage lymphatique, provoquant une accumulation excessive de liquide sous les yeux.

Essayez les Timbres hydrogel pour les yeux Mary KayMD pour hydrater, dégonfler et éclaircir la région des yeux. Et n’oubliez pas d’adopter de bonnes habitudes de sommeil!

A dollop of TimeWise Age Minimize 3D Eye Cream
Cernes

Des attaques quotidiennes comme l’exposition aux rayons UV, les radicaux libres et d’autres irritants stimulent une forte production de pigments et contribuent à l’apparence de cernes sous les yeux.

Appliquez la Crème pour les yeux Age Minimize 3DMD TimeWiseMD pour aider à améliorer différents signes de vieillissement et de fatigue, dont les cernes et les poches sous les yeux, les rides et les ridules. Changez votre style de vie, gérez vos allergies et n’oubliez pas de continuer avec vos bonnes habitudes de sommeil.

A sleek tube of TimeWise Repair Volu-Firm Eye Renewal Cream
Taches brunes et taches de vieillesse  

Les taches brunes et les taches de vieillesse sont surtout causées par les dommages à long terme du soleil, ce qui provoque une production inégale de mélanine dans la peau.

Appliquez la Crème régénératrice pour les yeux Volu-FirmMD TimeWise RepairMD anti-âge pour cibler les taches de vieillesse, le teint inégal, la peau d’apparence flétrie et les cernes. Et surtout, évitez le soleil! Nous vous suggérons d’utiliser un FPS et de porter des lunettes de soleil qui protègent contre les rayons UV.

Poches sous les yeux

Le Dissimulateur Perfecting Concealer et la Poudre fixante soyeuse Mary Kay avec le Pinceau pour fard en crème.

ÉTAPE 1 : SOINS DE LA PEAU
Pour se débarrasser des poches sous les yeux il faut d’abord s’occuper de sa peau. Si j’ai le temps, j’utilise les Timbres hydrogel pour les yeux Mary KayMD, mais en règle générale, j’applique toujours une crème pour les yeux avant de me maquiller. Aussi, j’utilise un tapotement très léger pour estomper la crème pour les yeux, et c’est une belle sensation! Si la peau sous vos yeux est grasse, utilisez un de mes produits incontournables, le Gel apaisant pour les yeux IndulgeMD, au lieu de la crème pour les yeux.

ÉTAPE 2 : DISSIMULATEUR
Une fois que votre crème pour les yeux est sèche, appliquez le Dissimulateur Perfecting Concealer Mary KayMD à la région plus foncée sous les poches – et non sur les poches – pour couvrir sans s’agglutiner. Le correcteur anti-cernes donne à la région des yeux un look plus lifté et plus uniforme. Utilisez votre annulaire pour tapoter légèrement les bords pour estomper.  Je suggère l’annulaire parce que c’est votre doigt le plus faible, vous pouvez donc traiter la région des yeux avec la délicatesse dont elle a besoin.

ÉTAPE 3 : POUDRE FIXANTE
Pour terminer, utilisez un peu de Poudre fixante soyeuse Mary KayMD au lieu d’une poudre translucide et le Pinceau dynamique estompeur pour les yeux Mary KayMD pour fixer le dissimulateur. Assurez-vous de ne pas utiliser une teinte trop pâle de la poudre. Elle devrait être assortie à votre teint ou seulement une teinte plus claire.

Cernes

Un frottis artistique avec le dissimulateur et des teintes de poudre pour diverses carnations.

ÉTAPE 1 : CORRECTEUR ANTI-CERNES
Aidez à neutraliser les cernes et à éclaircir la région sous les yeux avec le Correcteur anti-cernes Mary KayMD. Appliquez-le seulement sur la partie foncée que vous désirez corriger à l’aide du Pinceau pour fard en crème Mary KayMD pour une application plus précise. 

Si vous avez un teint de moyen à foncé, essayez le Dissimulateur Perfecting Concealer Mary KayMD Bronze clair. Son ton orange sert à corriger le look des cernes sur les peaux plus foncées.

ÉTAPE 2 : DISSIMULATEUR
Après avoir neutralisé les cernes, assurez-vous qu’elles sont assorties à votre carnation. Commencez par dessiner un triangle inversé sous votre œil avec les pointes dans le coin interne, le coin externe et votre joue utilisant une teinte de Dissimulateur Perfecting Concealer Mary KayMD qui va avec votre teint. Une petite quantité suffit, commencez par un peu de dissimulateur et appliquez-en d’autre au besoin pour éviter une couche trop épaisse.

ÉTAPE 3 : POUDRE FIXANTE
Fixez votre maquillage sous les yeux avec la technique de la Poudre fixante soyeuse Mary KayMD déjà mentionnée. Utilisez un peu de poudre à la fois et ajoutez-en au besoin pour éviter une couche trop épaisse.

Taches brunes
Un frottis du Dissimulateur Perfecting Concealer Mary Kay avec le tube et l’applicateur mousse.

ÉTAPE 1 : DISSIMULATEUR
Beaucoup de personnes, surtout les personnes de couleur, sont aux prises avec des taches brunes en général, mais elles peuvent aussi être présentes dans la région des yeux. Pour les couvrir, veuillez essayer cette technique en une étape! Appliquez une teinte du Dissimulateur Perfecting Concealer Mary KayMD qui correspond à votre carnation sur la zone foncée uniquement et estompez délicatement avec votre doigt pour un look impeccable. Ce dissimulateur aide aussi avec la rougeur, il est donc indispensable pour avoir un visage impeccable.

Si vous n’avez pas la teinte de dissimulateur qui correspond à votre teint, vous pouvez utiliser le Fond de teint 3D TimeWiseMDmat ou lumineux, pour corriger et dissimuler!
 

Votre concierge des dissimulateurs

Ces trois problèmes qui touchent la région sous les yeux sont très répandus dans le monde entier, alors n’hésitez pas à embrasser votre beauté naturelle! Pour les jours où vous désirez être à votre meilleur et bien éveillée, contactez une Conseillère en soins de beauté indépendante. En tant que votre conseillère beauté personnelle, vous pouvez l’appeler ou lui texter pour obtenir des conseils beauté et des produits que vous désirez.

L’ambassadeur mondial de la beauté Mary Kay Luis Casco s’est associé avec Mary Kay il y a plus de 25 ans! Il estime que connaître différentes techniques comme celles susmentionnées vous aide à être plus sûre de vous sans maquillage ou à créer votre propre chef-d'œuvre! Ses produits préférés pour les yeux fatigués sont les Timbres hydrogel pour les yeux Mary KayMD et le Gel apaisant pour les yeux IndulgeMD.
 
L’intervieweuse, Kristen Reed-Belveal, est gestionnaire de contenu chez Mary Kay. Elle aime les jeux de mots et passer du temps en famille. Ses produits Mary KayMD préférés pour les cernes sont le Dissimulateur Perfecting Concealer Mary KayMD Bronze clair et Bronze foncé et un peu de Poudre fixante soyeuse Mary KayMD Bronze moyen clair

Votre boîte à outils du Correcteur anti-cernes